A Great Day With Much Progress on the Siding

Our Siding Progress So Far

Our Siding Progress So Far

Friday, October 10, 2014

I just had a great, great day working on the tiny house. I think this might have been the most enjoyable day I have had working on the tiny house since probably ever. I’m not sure exactly what made the day feel so good, but I think it’s because I made such good progress. On all of my prior workdays, I always felt like I kept running into problems or things I didn’t know how to do and as a result, everything took twice as long as I thought it was going to or thought it should. However, today I felt like everything clicked along just the way it was supposed to. I made a couple of minor mistakes along the way, but easily recovered from them and didn’t encounter anything that I didn’t know how to handle.

Who helped today:

  • Sheila
  • Russ

What we did today:

Sheila and I spent the entire day working on siding. It’s a big project and there’s still a lot left to go. However, today I finished cutting all of the wood for the rear gable and Sheila and I also cut about half of the wood for the right side of the house. One of the greatest gifts I received today was that Sheila spent the whole day staining both sides of each piece of wood that I cut. That means that tomorrow all the pieces will be dry and we can install everything I worked so hard to create today. I am very excited. I think it will only take us a couple of hours to install all the stained wood tomorrow and I think the house is going to look great afterwards. I’m especially looking forward to having the entire rear side of the house covered in siding. Seriously, I can’t wait.

Sheila Hard at Work on the Stain

Sheila Hard at Work on the Stain

The Final Pile of Stained Wood

The Final Pile of Stained Wood

Although there is still quite a bit of siding to do, I’m not so overwhelmed by it anymore. When Andrew and I put about 15 man hours into the siding last week, we figured we were about 15% done. Sheila and I put another 18 or so hours in today and now I think we are about 30% done. That means it is continuing to take about one man hour per 1% of siding completion. 100 hours to install the siding seems like a lot, but I bet we will be done before we know it. Then, it will be onto some new challenge. The nice thing about the siding is that now that I know how to do it, it’s actually kind of fun. Pretty soon, we will be onto something new that I will have to learn how to do and my pace will slow down again.

Perhaps that’s why I felt so good about today. This is the first project we have worked on on the tiny house that I’m starting to get good at before I have actually finished it. I always love it when I can spend the whole day being efficient and productive doing something I know how to do and can do well. It may be one of my greatest joys in life.

Today’s tiny epiphany:

I have decided that staining siding is a perfect job to pay somebody else to do. It is kind of mindless grunt work. Sheila was a good person to work on that all day. I have also done a little bit of it and I think we are now both done with that experience. I think it is now time to hire someone to help us with the rest of it.

Favorite part of the day:

I think my favorite thing today was successfully cutting a long piece of siding to go around the lower piece of trim on the rear gable window. I think this is probably the most complicated thing I have ever cut out of wood. That’s why I was so delighted when it worked out perfectly. Seriously, it fit just right around the window. Carrying it up the ladder, pushing it into place around the lower window sill and seeing it fit so perfectly was truly delightful.

Here was the process I used for cutting that piece:
1. Draw out the pattern on the back side (always do all marking and cutting from the back side).
Drawing Out My Cut and Setting a Guide

Drawing Out My Cut and Setting a Guide

2. Set a guide and make the long cut with a circular saw:

Making the Long Cut

Making the Long Cut

3. Finish the long cut and make the small cuts with a jig saw. Cut straight up and down for the long and vertical cuts and at 15° angled toward the bottom of the board for the 1/2 inch horizontal cut that will extend over the top of the lower window trim.

Finished Cut

Finished Cut

The Final Piece in Place

The Final Piece in Place

This entry was posted in Siding, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

