We Almost Have a Roof

Installing Roof on Left Side

Installing Roof on Left Side

Sunday, December 7, 2014

Who Helped:

  • Sheila

Sheila and I almost finished putting on the roof yesterday, but not quite. We got all the panels on the left-hand side and we installed the gable trim on the back of the house. However, we ran out of time to install the gable trim on the front side of the house. Also, we don’t have a ridge cap on the house because I’m still waiting for the red colored ridge caps that I ordered from Home Depot to come in. I received beige ridge caps with my original order because that was all Home Depot had at the time. However, when I noticed that Home Depot suddenly had the red colored ones on their web site a couple of weeks ago, I went ahead and ordered them so I would have something to match the rest of the roof without having to paint it. In any case, now I’m a little bit worried because the roof is not completely watertight and more rain is expected this week.

Finishing the Left Side

Finishing the Left Side

Installing the Gable Trim

Installing the Gable Trim

I am pretty happy with how the gable trim turned out. I’m glad I spent the time and money required to bend the gable trim into a profile that is a better dimension for my tiny house. I think it looks really nice. I also spent a bit of time today carefully cutting the top and so the gable trim so they would fit together nicely. When I was done attaching the trim, I took some time to paint the seam between the two pieces of trim so it would look even better.

Cutting the Gable Trim

Cutting the Gable Trim

The Final Fit

The Final Fit

The weather report says there might be some light drizzle today and tomorrow. However, it doesn’t look like we will get any really serious rain until Thursday. I think my ridge cap will arrive on Tuesday. I’m hoping that maybe I can take a day off on Wednesday to finish the rest of the roof before it rains on Thursday. In the meantime, I do have a piece of Tyvek taped across the ridge of the house that I think will keep the house dry as long as the rain is not too heavy.

Left Side Panels Done!

Left Side Panels Done!

 

This entry was posted in Roof and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

