Give Me a Little Room!

Birds Eye View of Our New Composting Toilet

Our New Composting Toilet in Our New Little Bathroom!

July 9, 2015

I had another kind of rough day working on the house yesterday. However, instead of focusing on and talking about all the problems I had, I will try to focus on the positive by simply sharing a few photos of what I actually accomplished yesterday which despite the difficulties I encountered. Yesterday, I raised all the interior walls for our tiny bathroom and then designed and created a box for our composting toilet, both of which I thought turned out pretty well.

I will say this about yesterday: I am so thankful to God for creating the person who invented screws. If I had to identify the single most valuable material gift the universe has created and given to me in this tiny house process, it has to be screws. I love building things with screws because when you make a mistake, it’s so easy to undo it. Yesterday seemed to be an entire day of employing the rule, “third time’s a charm.” When you have to pull your entire composting toilet box apart, change the dimensions and put it together again for the third time, it’s hard not to appreciate the screws you used to put it together the first time.

Photo Log of Yesterday:

Here are the plans I drafted for my bathroom walls a few weeks ago. I’m sharing them here just so that you get an idea of what I was creating today.

Bathroom Plans

Bathroom Plans

I installed my first interior wall (wall #1 in the drawing which is the right side of the shower enclosure) yesterday with Andrew.  Here is the wall #2 installed, overlapping the right side of the shower a little bit .  At only 6 5/8 inches long, I can confidently say that it is the smallest interior wall I have ever created.  However, since I have only created four interior walls in my life, I’m not sure that is very significant.

Wall #2

Wall #2

Wall #3

Wall #3

The OCD in me loved this moment:

Checking for Level

Perfectly Level

Wall #4

Wall #4

My first interior room!

View from Inside the Shower

View from Inside the Shower

I drew up these plans for my composting toilet box from scratch during my lunch break today.  This is actually my third iteration on the plans.  These plans are inspired by the lovable loo plans found at the humanure website. I had a little bit of experience building something like this since Sheila and I built a lovable loo for our property a couple of years ago.  Of course, I didn’t have quite as many awesome power tools last time.

Toilet Plans

Toilet Plans

Gluing together ¾” x 5″ tongue and groove pine boards to make the bench. The glue really improves the strength after cutting the hole for the bucket.

Start of the Bench

Start of the Bench

Nailing & Gluing the Boards to the Support Rails

Nailing & Gluing the Boards to the Support Rails

The Support Frame

The Support Frame

Tracing a Hole for the Bucket

Tracing a Hole for the Bucket

I can’t believe I tried to do this with a hand saw last time!

Cutting the Hole

Cutting the Hole

I still need to add hinges, and some tongue and groove interior siding to the front and stain and polyurethane the box, but you get the idea

Toilet!

Toilet!

Problems I encountered yesterday:

  • Who cares. Does it really matter what problems I had to solve yesterday? My day was a success despite the problems. Heck, maybe my day was a success because of all the problems.

Favorite moments of the day:

  • I know I said this already, but I have to mention it again. Thank you, God, for screws. I think one of my favorite moments of the day yesterday was when I realized that one of my bathroom walls was a little bit out of square, making it difficult for me to install my composting toilet box. That was when I realized I could move and fix the whole wall just by removing one screw, pushing out on the bottom of the wall and putting a new screw back in. 30 seconds later, everything fit perfectly.
  • I know this is not tiny house related, but it is really nice to have Sheila home again after a week of her being in Israel for work. Sometimes when I’m cutting up fruit for my own cereal in the morning, I cut up twice as much fruit and put half of it in a bowl for Sheila to enjoy when she comes down for her breakfast. I haven’t been able to do that for her for the past week and for some reason, I really enjoyed being able to do that again this morning.
  • Discovering something called a Molly Bolt, which I had never heard of before and which I believe is going to become the solution to a problem I have been trying to solve for the past week: how to attach my IKEA kitchen cabinets to the wall. More about all of that in a future post. For now, I will just say that thinking about using a bunch of Molly Bolts to install my cabinets is starting is starting to fill me with the same kind of excitement I get when I think of building something with my impact driver and a box of screws.

Okay, seriously, who have I become? Two years ago, who would have guessed that getting impact drivers, screws or Molly Bolts from the universe would make me feel like a kid on Christmas morning.

This entry was posted in Bathroom, Composting Toilet, Interior Finish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Give Me a Little Room!

  1. Joan Freed says:

    Russ – What a fun post to read (along with its hyperlinks to older posts that I had forgotten!).

    And this made me smile. Made me smile a lot. :
    PROBLEMS I ENCOUNTERED YESTERDAY:

    WHO CARES. DOES IT REALLY MATTER WHAT PROBLEMS I HAD TO SOLVE YESTERDAY? MY DAY WAS A SUCCESS DESPITE THE PROBLEMS. HECK, MAYBE MY DAY WAS A SUCCESS BECAUSE OF ALL THE PROBLEMS.

    Maybe so. Isn’t that awesome?!

Leave a Reply

