More Working Plumbing!

Sheila Gets To Be the First to Take a Shower

Sheila Gets To Be the First to Take a Shower

Aug 17, 2015

Yesterday was the day Sheila discovered the hard way that we actually have running water in our tiny house bathroom. She was installing the shower curtain when her elbow accidentally hit the shower handle and she suddenly got soaked. It was actually kind of funny. Well, I thought it was funny anyway.

Most of my day yesterday was spent installing my bathroom sink, a project that ended up being a lot more complicated than I was expecting. The installation itself was not all that difficult. However, like so many other things on the tiny house, I had to do a lot of fighting with geometry to make it work. There are just so many places in a tiny house with very little space to work with and the bathroom is definitely one of those places. If I moved the sink even ½ inch in one direction, I would not be able to screw the sink into a stud. If I moved half an inch in the other direction, I couldn’t get all my pipes to come together or the aesthetics of the sink placement relative to the window trim looked funny. Getting everything to actually come together yesterday required some extra plumbing pieces and not one, but two different trips to the hardware store. Eventually, I got everything to install properly and I think everything turned out pretty well. It just took a lot of planning and thought. By the time I was done, it was nearly 8:00 PM.

Sink Attached To the Wall

Sink Attached To the Wall

Here’s a picture of the Oatey vent pipe that I’m using underneath both of my sinks. This vent allows air to go into the system so that the water drains well without requiring me to run event to stack all away through the ceiling and roof of my tiny house.

Pipes That Go Under The Sink

Pipes That Go Under The Sink

In order to make sure I screwed into solid wood on both sides of the sink, I had to get a little bit creative. On one side, I put a cabinet screw with a large washer directly through the hole in the back of the sink and hit the lower 2 x 4 that formed the bottom of my window rough opening.

Screwed on One Side

Screwed on One Side

On the other side, I used one of the metal brackets that came with the sink and screwed that into the stud on the right side of the window.

Bracket on the Other Side

Bracket and a Block of Wood on the Other Side

Sheila helped me with the sink installation yesterday which was really nice. She went to the hardware store with me the first time and went back to the hardware store by herself the second time. She helped me figure out what placement of the sink would look good and she lent a second set of hands to help me hold the sink in place and keep it level while I attached it to the wall. Sheila also installed the shower rod and shower curtain in the shower. With all of that done, our tiny bathroom is now starting to look and feel pretty much complete.

The great thing is that I now have a working sink and a working shower in our tiny house. I can run the water. The water goes into the sink or into the shower, down the drain and out the bottom of the trailer and it does not go anywhere else (unless you happen to be standing in the shower when you turn it on). I think that’s pretty awesome.

Completed Sink

Completed Sink

This entry was posted in Bathroom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

