No Pressure Kitchen Sink

Looking Like a Real Kitchen!

Starting to Look Like a Real Kitchen!

September 1, 2015

It took me most of the day, but I now have a kitchen sink installed. The installation was a little more complicated than I was anticipating mostly because the clips that came with the sink were clearly intended for a ¾ inch thick countertop and the countertop I got from IKEA was 1½ inches thick. Also, the 25 inch sink that I bought wasn’t a perfect match for my 24 inch wide IKEA cabinet. It took some rather complicated notching of the underside of the counter top to get the sink to fit in the cabinet and the clips to hook onto the counter top, but after several hours and some persistence, I finally got everything to work.

The other thing I did today was finally finished connecting up all of the drain pipes.  I not only installed the pipes for the kitchen sink, but also finally connected all the pipes together under the trailer which is really nice to have finished.

When I was fairly satisfied that I had the sink water and plumbing lines hooked up properly, I decided to test everything by turning on the water pump and running the faucet.  Unfortunately, when I flipped the switch for the water pump, nothing happened.  I could not figure out why and was sure that I was forgetting something.  I just couldn’t figure out what it was.  I checked the circuit breakers to make sure the converter was on.  I checked the fuse to the pump to make sure it had not blown.  When all of that checked out, I proceeded to get out my volt meter and started testing the circuit.  I had 12 volts at the breaker panel and even had 12 volts at the water pump switch.  Now I was really stumped.  Eventually, I even pulled the stove counter top off so I can get the wires inside the mechanicals cabinet to make sure nothing had come disconnected.  I looked inside and everything was fine.  Now I was not only stumped, but starting to get upset.  It seemed like my water pump had failed and I had only used it about four times.  Of course I bought it a year ago, so returning it would not be possible.  I was just about to get really angry when I finally realized what I had been forgetting.  I had used the water pump the night before and the system was still pressurized.  The water pump only runs when the pressure actually drops. The whole time, all I had to do was actually turn on my kitchen faucet. As soon as I did that, the water pump immediately came to life.

It only as I am writing this now that I realize the really good part of this whole story.  The really good news is that I now know I don’t have any leaks in my water pipes.  If I had a leak, then if the system wouldn’t have stayed pressurized for 24 hours. It appears that not only my sink, my pump and my drain lines, but also my entire waterline system are all operating just as they should.

Here are some photos of my day:

Tracing the Sink Onto the Countertop

Tracing the Sink Onto the Countertop

Marking Cut Line 5/16" in From Sink Perimeter

Marking Cut Line 5/16″ in From Sink Perimeter

Cutting Hole

Cutting the Hole Using Circular Saw

Finishing Corners With the Jig Saw

Finishing Corners With the Jig Saw

Adding 3/4" x 3/4" Notches for Sink Clips

Adding 3/4″ x 3/4″ Notches for Sink Clips

Sink Installed and Clips Attached

Sink Installed and Clips Attached

Working Sink!

Working Sink!

I love that the tiny house I’ve been working on for 1 1/2 years now is finally starting to look like an actual house.

This entry was posted in Kitchen, Plumbing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

