Another Interior Door

New Closet Door!

New Closet Door!

September 9, 2015

Yesterday, I spent about nine hours building and attempting to install my second interior door: the ever so tiny closet door. Having already built and installed interior door before, I thought this one would take me less than a day. I feel like it only took me 4-5 hours to build my bathroom door, although that was just the time to build it, not install it. I know I lost some time yesterday trying to cut some of my pine boards down to size with a circular saw instead of a table saw. However, I didn’t have a table saw for my bathroom door either. Oh well. I don’t know. It doesn’t matter. Almost everything on the tiny house takes longer than I expect it will and I think I’m finally OK with that.

Pine T&G Door Pieces Cut to Size

Pine T&G Door Pieces Cut to Size

Starting to Glue and Clamp Things Together

Starting to Glue and Clamp Things Together

Adding the Frame

Adding the Frame

Screwing Together and Adding the Z Brace

Screwing Together and Adding the Z Brace

One thing that took some extra time yesterday was that I ran into a problem trying to install the closet door that I just couldn’t solve. Or, maybe I should say I chose not to try to solve it last night, which I think is really good. When I installed the hinges and hung the door in the closet, it didn’t close flush with the other side of the closet opening and I simply could not figure out why. I measured the closet over and over again and as far as I could tell, all of the boards and walls were exactly the right length and exactly the same distance away from each other. At the time, I could not imagine why the door wasn’t working and honestly, the only answer I could think of was that there must be some kind of warp in space-time somewhere in the closet. One thing I did know was that I was not going to make the same mistake I made when hanging my bathroom door of hastily pulling the door off its hinges and trying to cut the wall or the door down to make everything fit. Instead, I decided to let it sit for a night to see what new ideas might come to me.

I’m really, really glad I decided to let the problem go because while I was at work today, I finally had an inspiration about what might be wrong. It occurred to me that the bathroom wall which formed the back end of the closet might not be entirely square. I checked it when I got home and sure enough, I was right. The bottom edge of the wall was not square. Not only that, I also realized that I could fix it by simply removing a couple of screws, prying the wall into the correct position and screwing it back down. I did all of that and suddenly the closet door closed perfectly.

I’m really proud of myself for both not getting angry about my closet door not closing and for being willing to just let it go for a little while. I learned my lesson on my bathroom door. I didn’t try to force things to come together before I was supposed to and in the end, that decision to take a break really paid off.

Favorite parts of my day:

  • Fixing the wall and seeing my closet door close perfectly.
  • Knowing that I now have the ability to both build and install my own doors.
  • Having Sheila come out and tell me how great my closet door looked.
Final Door with Decorative Knob Installed

Final Door with Decorative Knob Installed

This entry was posted in Doors, Interior Finish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

