Tandem Trips to the Tiny House

IMG_20170625_125102 (Large)

Tandem Twosday at the Tiny House on June 25 (folds into two suitcases for travel)

June 26, 2017

The month of June brought us two separate weekends where we were able to ride two different tandems up to the tiny house.  Being able to ride our bikes to our own cabin in the woods has always been our dream and was the original motivation for building the tiny house.  That dream has been many years in the making, but now that we have it, I have to say it’s everything I hoped for and more.  It is so nice to be able to hop on our tandem with nothing but a couple of sausages for dinner in the pannier and be able to spend a whole weekend in the woods.  Once we get to the tiny house, we have shelter, water, lights, a shower, a bed, clothing to change into and even pancake mix for breakfast.  Everything we need is already there.

We have recently discovered that we don’t even have to carry dinner with us if we don’t want to. Our new favorite thing to do is to stop at Boulder Creek Pizza & Pub on the way in. They make some really delicious pizza and they even let us bring our tandem inside.

IMG_1179 (Large)

Campfire on June 3 with 1996 Santana Visa Tandem in Background

I don’t know what it is, but something about transporting yourself by bicycle where you are going for the night makes eating, relaxing and sleeping that much more enjoyable.  When you’re eating, relaxing and sleeping at a piece of property you own in a tiny house you built … well, you can imagine how great that might be.

I think I first came up with this idea of having a small home in the woods somewhere we could get to on our bicycles maybe 10 years ago.  For a long time, it was just a dream and then about 4 ½ years ago, I started actively looking for a simple structure that I could put on a piece of land somewhere.  I first thought about modular housing, but was turned off immediately.  Even the simplest modular housing seemed to cost $125K or more and didn’t seem very attractive.  I looked at converted shipping containers but the expense to attractiveness ratio seemed even worse than modular houses.  It wasn’t until late in 2012 that I finally stumbled across the Tumbleweed Tiny House web site where I discovered the Walden tiny house (now called the Elm).  As soon as I saw the Walden design, I knew that was what I wanted to build.  Tumbleweed said you could build it for only $20 – $25K and it was about the most attractive little cabin I had ever seen.  It took me 4 more months to find a piece of land, a year to start building and another two years more to finish, but now I have what I have been dreaming of for the past 10 years: my own cabin on a piece of beautiful land that I can ride my bicycle to on the weekend and have everything I need waiting for me.

img_1181-large.jpg

Dinner out of the Pannier

This entry was posted in Tiny Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tandem Trips to the Tiny House

  1. tinycasita says:

    I would love to hear more about your process for finding property. I’m in the general area and will be renting a spot, but curious about the possibilities for buying undeveloped land and any potential issues that may come up with tiny house parking. If you’re open to an email/phone conversation it would be great to hear more about your experience!

    • We got kind of lucky with our property. We had friends who we’re also interested in building a tiny house who had been looking for a long time. One day, they invited us to look at a piece of property with them and we all ended up buying that property together. I never did a lot to figure out permitting or zoning related to my tiny house. It’s deep in the woods, so it’s unlikely the county or the neighbors would ever know about it or care. I figure I’ll deal with the rules and regulations only when and if I have to. Happy to talk about it more, if you want. Will send you an email.

Leave a Reply

